Founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007, Indian Premier League today is the most loved cricket league in the world. With over 400 million viewers from India itself, it is the most-watched T20 tournament globally.

The 2023 IPL season is around the corner, and fans are excited to see their favorites compete for the trophy. This article mentions the top ten batsmen with the highest number of runs in the T20 tournament. Keep scrolling for more such cricket news, stories, and get the latest IPL news now.

  • Gautam Gambhir

Gambhir started his IPL career with Delhi Daredevils on a bag, scoring 534 runs in just 14 matches, making him the highest run-scorer of the inaugural season. He also won the title of Cricinfo IPL XI for his 2008 performance. Former Indian cricketer has scored 4217 runs in 154 matches at an average of 31.23 and a strike rate of 123.88.

After representing Delhi Daredevils for three consecutive seasons, Gambhir was signed up by Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2011 IPL auction for $2.4 million and was soon made the captain of the team. Under his captainship, KKR won the IPL title twice in 2012 and 2014. He had a dream season in 2012, when he scored 590 runs in 17 matches at an average of 39.33 and an admirable strike rate of 140.55, making him the highest run-scorer of that season.

  • Robin Uthappa

Another star batter on the list is the former cricketer Robin Uthappa. The top-order batsman was known for his opening partnership with Gautam Gambhir and has made 4952 runs in his IPL career with an impressive strike rate of 130.35. He also played for Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals before announcing his retirement from all formats of cricket in 2022. Uthappa’s performance was instrumental in KKR’s second IPL victory  in 2014, where he scored 660 runs in just 16 matches and became the highest run-scorer of the season.

  • MS Dhoni

Former Indian captain cool made his IPL debut in 2008 with Chennai Super Kings and was the face of the franchise up till 2015, he was then traded to Rising Pune Supergiants for two seasons before making his comeback in the yellow army in 2018. Batting lower down the order, Dhoni mastered the art of finishing games. Overall, he has made 4978 runs in 234 matches at an average of 39.20 and a strike rate of over 135.

  • Chris Gayle

The 42-year-old Jamaican all-rounder, Chris Gayle, started his Indian Premier League journey with Kolkata Knight Riders in 2009 and has not missed a single season since then. Gayle has also represented Royal Challengers Bangalore and has been with Kings XI Punjab since his last three IPL seasons.

The universe boss has 4965 runs under his belt and holds the record for the highest number of IPL centuries (6), the highest number of sixes (357), and the player with the highest individual score (175).

  • AB De Villiers

A sharp wicket-keeper and an even better fielder, AB De Villiers is among the most successful and versatile batsmen in the Indian Premier League with over 5000 runs to his name. He made his IPL debut with Delhi Daredevils in 2008 and represented Royal Challengers Bangalore for the majority of his career. Scoring 687 runs in 16 matches at an average of 52.84 and a strike rate of 168.79, he guided RCB to their third IPL final in the 2016 season.

  • Suresh Raina

Former Indian and Chennai Super Kings batting superstar, Suresh Raina joined the IPL landscape with Chennai Super Kings in 2008 and has lifted four IPL trophies with CSK during the 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021 IPL seasons.

Raina, in his 12-year-long IPL journey, has scored a total of 5528 runs in 205 matches at an average of 32.52 and an impressive strike rate of 136.71, including a century and 39 half-centuries. A terrific batter and an even better fielder, Raina also holds the record for taking the highest number of catches as a non-wicket-keeper, with 109 IPL catches to his name.

  • Rohit Sharma

Next on the list is the most successful captain in the history of the Indian Premier League, Rohit Sharma. The Nagpur-born cricketer has been with Mumbai Indians for over a decade and won five IPL titles in his career, four with Mumbai Indians and one with Deccan Chargers, the highest in this tournament.

Sharma has commenced 5611 runs in 211 matches, at an average of 31.17 and strike rate of over 130, proving his destructive batting abilities. The hitman is retained by the Mumbai-based franchise for the sixteenth season of the league for 16 crores.

  • David Warner

The 36-year-old Australian all-rounder made his debut in the Indian Premier League with Delhi Daredevils in 2009. His powerful performance for Delhi Daredevils in the sixth season of IPL, where he scored a whopping 410 runs in 16 matches at an average of 31.53 and a strike rate of 126.93, including two centuries, made the Hyderabad franchise to pick him for the 2014 IPL season.

The left-handed batsman has four IPL centuries to his name and is also the player with the highest number of half-centuries under his belt. He is the third-highest run-getter in the tournament’s history with 5881 runs in 162 matches, at an average of 42.01 and a strike of over 140. Warner is the only IPL player who has worn the orange cap thrice in his career.

  • Shikhar Dhawan

One of the most sought-after players in IPL history, Dhawan made his IPL debut with Delhi Daredevils in 2008 and has represented several teams including Sunrisers Hyderabad, Kings XI Punjab, Mumbai Indians, and Deccan Chargers throughout the years. The opening batsman is known for providing the best possible start to his teams using his powerful batting strokes.

With 6244 runs in 206 matches, at an average of 35.08 and a respectable strike rate of 126.35, including two hot one-hundreds and 44 half-centuries to his name, Dhawan is undoubtedly among the most consistent run-scores of this tournament.

  • Virat Kohli

A classy batsman and one of the most prolific run-chasers of our generations, Kohli’s name became synonymous with explosive batting in all three formats of cricket. The former captain of the Indian National Cricket Team has had an excellent IPL journey so far, with more than 6000 runs in 215 matches under his belt, at an average of 36.58 and an impressive strike rate of 129.94.

Kohli started his IPL journey with Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 2008 and has been loyal to the franchise ever since the first edition of the league. He gave his career-best IPL performance in 2016, where he scored four centuries in 16 matches, at an average of 81.08, leading RCB to the final stage of the tournament. Kohli has scored over 400 runs in every single season after the 2017 IPL.

Know all about cricket news and updates at CBTF news.

Get the fastest cricket news update at

Know all about cricket betting and updates at CBTF betting.

Get the updated expert betting tips at

Checkout our videos to get the latest updates about cricket and betting tips, and casino

tips to win big with expert opinions at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *